Sophie Theallet was announced as the winner for the International Woolmark Prize USA Award.

Ten of the most talented USA designers vied for the award including Bibhu Mohapatra, Slinky Vagabond by Keanan Duffty, Kaufman Franco by Ken Kaufman and Issac Franco, M.Patmos by Marcia Patmos, Naeem Khan, NUMBER: Lab by Luis Fernandez, Prabal Gurung, Ruffian by Brian Wolke and Claude Morias, and VPL by Victoria Bartlett.

Winner Sophie Theallet was selected by iconic industry figures: Steven Kolb; Narciso Rodriguez; Linda Fargo - SVP Fashion Office and Store Presentation at Bergdorf Goodman; Sally Singer - Editor in Chief at T Magazine and Malcolm Carfrae - EVP of Global Communications at Calvin Klein.

The Woolmark Company has re-initiated the International Woolmark Prize this year to help promote outstanding and emerging talent from around the world. The Council of Fashion Designers America (CFDA) has supported the development of the prize in the USA.

There are five regional competitions - USA, Europe, China, Australia and India - a substantial 70 nominees across 15 countries. The winners of each regional competition receive a financial grant and will travel to London courtesy of The Woolmark Company to London Fashion Week in February 2013 where they will present an entire capsule collection of Australian Merino wool and an international winner will be selected.

The international winner will have his/her designs stocked by leading global retailers including Bergdorf Goodman in the USA, Harvey Nichols in the UK, 10 Corso Como in Italy, Joyce in China, Eickoff in Germany and David Jones in Australia.