Longtime President and Chief Executive Officer of Neiman Marcus Inc. Burt Tansky has announced plans to retire from the company effective October 6, 2010. Tansky will assume the role of non-executive Chairman of the Board following his retirement, while Karen W. Katz, President, Chief Executive Officer of Neiman Stores and EVP of Neiman Marcus Group, will succeed Tansky.

Also effective October 6, James E. Skinner, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of the Neiman Marcus Group, will become Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer, the Neiman Marcus Group; James J. Gold, President and CEO of Bergdorf Goodman, also will assume the newly created position of President of Specialty Retail.

Tansky, 72, previously served as President and Chief Operating Officer, and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, of Neiman Marcus Stores. He joined the company in 1989 as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Bergdorf Goodman.

“I am very proud to leave the company positioned as the leader in the luxury retail industry and of the many accomplishments we have achieved over the past 20 years,” he said. “I am confident that I am leaving The Neiman Marcus Group in capable hands as Karen and her team lead our great company through the years ahead. I am looking forward to working with Karen to ensure a smooth transition.”

The Neiman Marcus Group, Inc. currently includes the Specialty Retail Stores segment, consisting of Neiman Marcus and Bergdorf Goodman, and the Direct Marketing segment, comprising print catalog and online operations under the Neiman Marcus, Bergdorf Goodman and Horchow retail banners.

—Tim Yap