The second edition of Createurope took place at Uferhallen in Berlin last weekend. Highlights of the event included the announcement of the fashion design award winners after the big fashion show. Thirty models wearing 180 creations by 29 finalists offered a unique mix of young international fashion design.

Overall, more than 1,000 applicants from 59 countries were invited to join the competition. For the first time the event included not only young fashion designers from Europe but also designers from the Middle East and North Africa.

This year’s jury consisted of prominent personalities such as An Vandevorst and Filip Arick, designers of AF Vandevorst; Chris Dercon, manager of “Haus der Kunst” in Munich; Isabelle Gleize, manager of Village des Créateurs Lyon; and Philip Stephens, designer of Unconditional and founder of the PR agency Concrete London. All participated in choosing this year’s recipients for the Best Upcoming Designer Award (Antonia Funmi Bello, HTW Berlin), Best Avant-Garde Award (Lisa Shanho, Moscow Mossevet College/Moscow State University for Design and Technology), Best Student Award (Christine Kruger, HAW Hamburg) and Audience Award (Amine Bendriouich, Esmod Tunis).

The event was broadcasted live on big screens and over the Internet. Following the presentation of trophies designed by British sculptor Anthony Cragg, more than 1,200 guests stayed to celebrate the evening.

Launched in 2008, Createurope: The Fashion Design Award began as an initiative by the Goethe-Institute and as a project of EUNIC, the community of European art institutes in Berlin, with Quelle GmbH as its main sponsor. The award goes to young designers and international fashion schools, with the aim of creating a network of Europe’s top designers.

—Helena Sauer