Let the competition begin! The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) has announced the nominees and honorees for its annual and prestigious Fashion Awards, which will be handed out June 4 at Lincoln Center in New York City. In addition to the main prizes, The Swarovski Awards, which include financial backing, are given to fledgling labels.
The 2012 nominees are:
Womenswear Designer of Year
Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Marc Jacobs
Menswear Designer of the Year
Billy Reid
Patrick Ervell
Simon Spurr
Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez, Proenza Schouler
Reed Krakoff
Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Chris Peters & Shane Gabier, Creatures of the Wind
Joseph Altuzarra
Max Osterweiss & Erin Beatty, Suno
Swarovski Award for Menswear
Antonio Azzuolo
Phillip Lim
Todd Snyder
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Irene Neuwirth
Pamela Love
Tabitha Simmons
The preselected honorees are:
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Tommy Hilfiger
Media Award
Scott Schuman & Garance Doré
Fashion Icon Award
Johnny Depp
Founders Award
Andrew Rosen
International Award
Rei Kawakubo of Comme des Garçons
Nominations for each award category are submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Selection Committee, which includes the more than 400 members of the CFDA plus influential fashion retailers, journalists and stylists.
The CFDA, which is headed by its president, Diane von Furstenberg, and CEO, Steven Kolb, is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year.
Todd Snyder, Steven Kolb
Todd Snyder, Steven Kolb