During a ceremony at The Savoy Hotel and Theater, London, the British Fashion Awards 2010 have been announced on Dec. 7. The winner of the prestigious ‘British Designer of the Year Award’ went to highly-acclaimed designer Phoebe Philo, Creative Director of Celine.

In addition, another eleven fashion figures were also honored. Among the recipients were stylist Nicola Formichetti, who bagged the ‘Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator’. Alexa Chung, meanwhile, received the ‘British Style Award’; and ‘The Designer Brand Award’ went to Mulberry. To continue the count, Patrick Grant collected the ‘Menswear Designer Award’ for his label E. Tautz; and Lara Stone collected the ‘Model of the Year Award’; while footwear designer Nicholas Kirkwood won the ‘Accessory Designer Award’.

Moving with the times, two new award categories were added to the list this year, namely ‘Special Recognition’ and ‘Digital Innovation’. The former was awarded to supermodel Naomi Campbell in recognition of her role as a hugely influential ambassador for British fashion, while Burberry won the Digital Innovation Award for its groundbreaking online inventions.

Lastly, and very poignantly, four-time winner of ‘British Designer of the Year Award’, Lee Alexander McQueen posthumously received the award for ‘Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Design’.